Update on Object Detection

Hello! Wasn’t sure whether to put this in General or Feature Requests. I have several years experience training deep learning models but using online/web based tools. Recently, I stumbled on your website and watched all of the getting started videos. I am very encouraged and eager to get started with your tools. They give me ultimate control and tuning of my model which you do not get on most web based tools out there.

That said, we mainly work with Object Detection models (Yolo and MobileNet SSD) and I was bummed to see you don’t support that yet. I did read that (maybe) you are working on it? Can I get an update on this so I know whether to keep your tool on my radar and when I might be able to check back?

Thanks!

Hi @mbedford

Nice to have you around - especially with all that experience!

Just a quick comment from me: things like MobileNet are mentioned in the documentation .e.g here and, as @misakss mentions in this thread you can import from tensorflow_hub (see esp. post #5 to resolve a typo in the initial post)

If any of the stuff you want to use are available from _hub that’s the way to go I think.

(BTW - for others: MobileNetV2 (not what you are looking for, I know) and similar are available under the “Public” menu in the modelling tool… )

Out of curiosity, what have you been doing with object detection? The PL guys are really helpful and if you care to say a little bit more about your use case they’ll certainly be more helpful that I can be right now :wink:

Hi @mbedford and welcome to the forum!

Object Detection is the next model type we will work on getting into the tool, expect to see something early next year :slight_smile:
As @JulianSMoore mentioned as well, any info on use cases or OD preferences you are willing to share are useful for us to prioritize which part of OD we will tackle first.

Best regards,
Robert